Aisling Daly returns to competition at Cage Warriors 63


Aisling Daly is celebrating her birthday differently than most.

While The Irish fighter, born on Christmas Eve many years ago, will be getting ready to make her return to mixed martial arts when she takes on Spanish star Karla Benitez at Cage Warriors 63, Dec. 31.

Daly has been away from competition for the past year. In her last bout, she fought Katja “Killer Bunny” Kankaanpää to a decision.

Although the match was in “Ais The Bash’s” home country, Kankaanpää could come away with the decision.

Daly enters this fight with a three-bout losing streak. In all three bouts – which included matches against UFC veteran Rosi Sexton and current Invicta Flyweight champion Barb Honchak – Daly lost by decision. Meanwhile Benitez has gone 3-1 in her last four fights, including a TKO victory over Rita Marreno.

This match has the makings of a good scrap as both Daly and Benitez have similar skill sets and are capable of finishing the fight. One advantage The Bash has in this match is the home crowd, who will no doubt be cheering for her when she enters the cage.

Daly has a lot of momentum going into this fight and has the capability of finishing Benitez early on. Once the fight is over, The Bash will have a chance to celebrate.

 

Who do you think will win this fight? Answer with a comment below, send a tweet to @alstover or email [email protected]

Cage Warriors 63 full fight card
Main Card | 9 p.m. GMT (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)
Stevie Ray (c) vs. Ivan Buchinger – CWFC lightweight title bout
John Maguire vs. Philip Mulpeter
Jim Alers (c) vs. Graham Turner – CWFC featherweight title bout
Paul Redmond vs. Mateusz Teodorczuk
Karla Benitez vs. Aisling Daly

Facebook Prelims | 7:30 p.m. GMT (2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT)
Sean Carter vs. Myles Price
Catherine Costigan vs. Morgane Delagnau
Kieran Davern vs. John Redmond
Amanda English vs. Slavka Vitaly

Unstreamed Prelims | 6:15 p.m. local time (GMT)
Chris Boujard vs. Peter Queally
Gavin Kelly vs. Dylan Sheehan
Mick Brennan vs. Kieran O’Brien

 

Tags: Aisling Daly Cage Warriors MMA Women's MMA