Faber vs. Barao I. Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-US PRESSWIRE

UFC 169 Countdown: Barao vs. Faber, Aldo vs. Lamas, Mir vs. Overeem


This Saturday, February 1st, UFC 169 goes down. In one of the more highly anticipated Pay Per View cards announced thus far in 2014, Renan Barao looks to confirm his position as the best bantamweight in the world when he squares off with Urijah Faber for a second time. In the co main event, Jose Aldo takes on Ricardo Lamas as he looks to make defend his UFC Featherweight title for a sixth time and take his win streak to 17. Lamas, on the other hand, is hoping to beat the significant favourite and go 5-0 in the UFC. The third bout on the stacked main card sees former heavyweight contenders Frank Mir and Alistair Overeem put their careers on the line in a potential loser leaves town match.

Below are the UFC’s own Countdown videos to the three above match-ups, which all take place this Saturday at the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ. Elsewhere, John Lineker faces Ali Bagautinov in a #1 contender match at flyweight, Jamie Varner hopes to rebound with a win over Abel Trujillo, and the likes of Chris Cariaso, Tom Watson and Al Iaquinta are all in action. You can find the full card below, along with the scheduled times which will be followed by the videos that take a look ahead at the Barao vs. Faber, Aldo vs. Lamas and Mir vs. Overeem match-ups.

 

Main Card: PPV (10pm ET/7pm PT)
UFC Bantamweight title bout: Renan Barao (C) vs. Urijah Faber (#1)
UFC Featherweight title bout: Jose Aldo (C) vs. Ricardo Lamas (#2)
Heavyweight bout: Frank Mir (#10) vs. Alistair Overeem (#9)
Flyweight bout: John Lineker (#5) vs. Ali Bagautinov (#7)
Lightweight bout: Jamie Varner vs. Abel Trujillo

Preliminary Card: Fox Sports (8pm ET/5pm PT)
Lightweight bout: John Makdessi vs. Alan Patrick
Flyweight bout: Chris Cariaso (#9) vs. Danny Martinez
Middleweight bout: Nick Catone vs. Tom Watson
Lightweight bout: Al Iaquinta vs. Kevin Lee

Preliminary Card: Facebook (6.30pm ET/3.30pm PT)
Middleweight bout: Clint Hester vs. Andy Enz
Lightweight bout: Tony Martin vs. Rashid Magomedov
Welterweight bout: Neil Magny vs. Gasan Umalatov

 

Barao vs. Faber

Aldo vs. Lamas

Mir vs. Overeem

Tags: Alistair Overeem Featured Frank Mir Jose Aldo Popular Renan Barao Ricardo Lamas Ufc 169 Urijah Faber