Lineker after defeating Russian prospect Azamat Gashimov. Credit: Jason da Silva-USA TODAY Sports

UFC 169 Weigh-In Results: Barao, Faber Cleared

Though the two title fights have been cleared for tomorrow’s stacked card, the most shocking revelation from the weigh-ins was that John Lineker failed to make weight for a fourth time in his sixth UFC appearance, and for a third time in a row. This news will certainly displease UFC president Dana White, who stated his reason for Lineker not getting a shot at the 125 lbs belt was his unreliability at making weight, and he wasn’t wrong.

Despite a four fight winning streak, with three finishes in a row, Lineker will probably have to wait even further to get a shot at Johnson’s belt, even with an impressive performance over #7 ranked Russian Ali Bagautinov. Had he made weight, a win over Bagautinov would have been enough to get him a shot, but after missing weight for a staggering fourth time, White will be unlikely to give in. Lineker revealed recently that, after reports of him working with Mike Dolce surfaced, he wasn’t working with the nutritionist as he introduced a new diet. That could be a pivotal error for the Brazilian’s future in the promotion.

Elsewhere, all of the card were able to make weight. You can find the full results below.

Main Card: PPV (10pm ET/7pm PT)
UFC Bantamweight title bout: (C) Renan Barao (135) vs. (#1) Urijah Faber (134.5)
UFC Featherweight title bout: (C) Jose Aldo (145) vs. (#2) Ricardo Lamas (144.5)
Heavyweight bout: (#10) Frank Mir (256.5) vs. (#9) Alistair Overeem (257)
Flyweight bout: (#5) John Lineker (127*) vs. (#7) Ali Bagautinov (126)
Lightweight bout: Jamie Varner (156) vs. Abel Trujillo (155.5)

Preliminary Card: Fox Sports (8pm ET/5pm PT)
Lightweight bout: John Makdessi (155) vs. Alan Patrick (155.5)
Flyweight bout: (#9) Chris Cariaso (125) vs. Danny Martinez (125.5)
Middleweight bout: Nick Catone (185.5) vs. Tom Watson (185.5)
Lightweight bout: Al Iaquinta (155) vs. Kevin Lee (155.5)

Preliminary Card: Facebook (6.30pm ET/3.30pm PT)
Middleweight bout: Clint Hester (185.5) vs. Andy Enz (184.5)
Lightweight bout: Tony Martin (155.5) vs. Rashid Magomedov (155)
Welterweight bout: Neil Magny (170.25) vs. Gasan Umalatov (170)

*Lineker has one hour to cut the remaining 1 lbs.

UFC 169 goes down in Newark, NJ at the Prudential Centre, tomorrow night (1 February) on pay-per-view. Both the bantamweight and featherweight straps are on the line in one of the most highly awaited cards of 2014.

 

UPDATE: John Lineker was able to make weight at 126 lbs on a second attempt, and the fight with Bagautinov will go ahead as a flyweight bout.

Tags: Renan Barao Ufc 169 Urijah Faber

comments powered by Disqus