Chris Weidman named 2013 Fighter of the year. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

Fighters Only World MMA Awards for 2013 Results

The 6th annual World Mixed Martial Arts Awards hosted by Fighters Only took place on February 6th, 2014 in Las Vegas at the Venetian.

Award winners were selected based on fan voting on from a list of selected nominees.

(the season the eligibility period runs for 15 months, from October 1st, 2012 through to December 31st, 2013. This is so all future awards events cater for a standard calender year)

The complete list of MMA Awards (and their nominees) were handed out for the year of 2013:

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year
1. Vitor Belfort
2. Urijah Faber
3. Demetrious Johnson
4. Chris Weidman
5. Cain Velasquez

Winner: Chris Weidman

Female Fighter of the Year
1. Joanne Calderwood
2. Alexis Davis
3. Jessica Eye
4. Holly Holm
5. Ronda Rousey

Winner: Ronda Rousey (2nd time–2012)

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
1. Travis Browne
2. TJ Grant
3. Conor McGregor
4. Nick Newell
5. Khabib Nurmagomedov

Winner: Travis Browne

International Fighter of the Year
1. Shinya Aoki
2. Alexander Gustafsson
3. Conor McGregor
4. Khabib Nurmagomedov
5. Alexander Shlemenko

Winner: Alexander Gustafsson

Fight of the Year
1. Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
2. Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
3. Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
4. Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
5. Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Winner: Jon Jones vs Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)

Knockout of the Year
1. Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)
2. Junior Dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
3. Emanuel Newton (vs. ‘King Mo’ Lawal, Bellator 90)
4. Julio Cesar Neves Jr (vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
5. Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)

Winner: Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)

Submission of the Year
1. Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
2. Josh Burkman (vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
3. Urijah Faber (vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)
4. Rose Namajunas (vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)
5. Kenny Robertson (vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

Winner: Urijah Faber (vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year
1. Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)
2. Blagoi Ivanov (career)
3. Robbie Lawler (career)
4. Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
5. Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)

Winner: Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
1. Henri Hooft
2. Duane Ludwig
3. Ray Longo
4. Andre Pederneiras
5. Duke Roufus

Winner: Duane Ludwig

Gym of the Year
1. American Kickboxing Academy
2. Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
3. Nova Uniao
4. Roufusport
5. Team Alpha Male

Winner: Team Alpha Male

Trainer of the Year
1. Doug Balzarini
2. Jake Bonacci
3. Jonathan Chaimberg
4. Mike Dolce
5. Joel Jamieson

Winner: Mike Dolce

Referee of the Year
1. Herb Dean
2. Marc Goddard
3. Yves Lavigne
4. John McCarthy
5. Mario Yamasaki

Winner: Herb Dean (4th time–2010, 2011, 2012)

Ringcard Girl of the Year
1. Jade Bryce
2. Arianny Celeste
3. Kat Kelley
4. Brittney Palmer
5. Mercedes Terrell

Winner: Brittney Palmer (2nd time–2012)

Leading Man
1. Victor Cui
2. Lorenzo Fertitta
3. Bjorn Rebney
4. Ray Sefo
5. Dana White

Winner: Dana White (6th win–2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Personality of the Year
1. Bruce Buffer
2. Kenny Florian
3. Joe Rogan
4. Bas Rutten
5. Chael Sonnen

Winner: Chael Sonnen

Best Promotion
1. Bellator MMA
2. Cage Warriors
3. One FC
4. UFC

Winner: UFC (6th win–2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Best Lifestyle Clothing
1. Bad Boy
2. Fear the Fighter
3. Headrush
4. Roots of Fight
5. Torque

Winner: Bad Boy (2nd win–2012)

Best Technical Clothing
1. Bad Boy
2. Clinch Gear
3. Hayabusa
4. Jaco
5. Venum

Winner: Venum

Best Technical Equipment
1. Bad Boy
2. Century
3. Everlast
4. Hayabusa
5. Venum

Winner: Bad Boy

Media Source of the Year
1. Inside MMA (AXS TV)
2. MMA Fighting
3. MMA Junkie
4. Sherdog
5. UFC Tonight (Fox Sports 1)

Winner: MMA Fighting

Journalist of the Year
1. Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)
2. Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph / Fox Sports)
3. Ben Fowlkes (USA Today / MMA Junkie)
4. Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting / Fox Sports)
5. John Morgan (USA Today / MMA Junkie)

Winner: Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting / Fox Sports) (4th win, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Royce Gracie

Tags: Fighters Only MMA UFC World Mma Awards

comments powered by Disqus